The Wild Muse

wildness, wonder, and the spirit of place

Lands of Exposure

3 Comments

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Indiana Field, A. Sato

“Therefore, the places in which we have experienced day dreaming reconstitute themselves in a new daydream, and it is because our memories of former dwelling-places are relived as day-dreams these dwelling-places of the past remain in us for all the time.”
― Gaston Bachelard, The Poetics of Space

When I was a young girl, I used to spend many hours sitting on my grandparents’ porch, gazing at the wide field across the road. The field seemed enormous then – and frighteningly as vast as space itself. I remember a distinct sense of loneliness as I looked across that empty space and watched the sun descend. At the same time, just under the loneliness, a sense of hope, of fullness.

It’s been 6 years since I have been back. The old house is now in the possession of another family. Things, as they do when we age, seem smaller, more contained.

The last time I was there we said goodbye to my grandfather and buried him on the edge of yet another field, familiar as home since the bones of many family members rest there, too.

Before returning to the desert, I sat at the edge of that field, among violets and freshly mowed grass, and breathed in the enormity again, the space that made me feel so small against it.

I was born a child of the woods. Open space, more than the darkness of dense pine stands and overgrown creek beds, seemed to contain the elements of childhood fear: exposure, vulnerability, and enormity. In the woods I was never alone. I was surrounded by brother trees and sister animals – deer, feral dogs, squirrels, cows. In their life was a recognition of my own.

But something happened. I grew to love vastness.

creosoteflat

Creosote Hills, A. Sato

Throughout my adult life, my choices have always led me to the assurance of fields, prairies, deserts – perhaps to finally embrace the price of life, complete vulnerability to it.

As I now gaze across another vast terrain – one of thorn and rock – I still seek that fullness, that hope I felt as a girl on my grandparents’ porch. To meet the emptiness feels like surrendering to something more powerful than my hemmed in perception and fears.

No matter where I am, the edge of a verdant field or beneath a burning sun on blackened rock, there is always space – and in this space, possibilities beyond the imaginings of a girl and the regrets of a woman.

I know what it is I seek there… comfort.

Author: Aleah Sato

Writer, wanderer, dreamer, desert dweller

3 thoughts on “Lands of Exposure

  1. Beautiful, Aleah. You just are. You can’t help it.

    Like

  2. As I was driving back from the North Rim yesterday, I was thinking about how I much prefer wide open spaces to woods. I grew up with the beautiful Shawnee National Forest as my playground, with my house almost surrounded by woods. And yet, camping deep in the forest scares me. I’d much rather be on a prairie or open desert. I need to be able to see forever to feel comfortable. To me, the woods hide things. As much as I love the forests (and I do!), I have difficulty in there just the same.

    Like

  3. “…in this space, possibilities beyond the imaginings of a girl and the regrets of a woman.” yes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

